The Night-Time Dilemma

“To do, or not to do? That is the question!” William Shakespeare

(Thanks for the hook, Shakespeare!)

The kids are in bed, well at least one is in bed…My toddler, Sweet C, has bedtime between 8:30 and 9 o’clock. My darling three-month old, Blue Eyes,ย  gets turns being held my Mommy, Daddy, and the swing during the evening. But generally speaking, the evening is free time for me and Hubby. And by free time what I really mean is “the night-time dilemma”.ย I could just sit and relax (and maybe blog or look at Facebook) or finish up chores that didn’t get done during the day, which would be most of them!

Finishing up chores makes the next day run soooo much smoother. It is less stressful to walk into the kitchen and see clean counter, a dish free sink, wiped down table. I am mostly great at least having the kitchen in order before I go to bed. But then there are nights like tonight where I am just physically worn down and have already mentally checked out!

I have an option, (we all always have a choice). Get motivated, get moving, and as the old Nike slogan aptly encouraged, “Just Do It!”. Or, I could slump around tonight worrying about how tomorrow I am going to have just that much more to do (and less time to do it since we have a wedding to attend). It is not always easy to just pull myself up by the bootstraps and kick myself in the rear to get going. I need an outside source of inspiration, a conviction to take the less easy choice, a reminder to strive for the best.

Enter Proverbs 31

The Wife of Noble Character. That is who I want to be! From verse 27: “She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.”

Truth and Wisdom are great at giving inspiration, aren’t they?

 

What motivates you?

 

4 thoughts on “The Night-Time Dilemma

  1. Ha – I SO needed to hear this tonight! I just cooked a bunch today and the kitchen is a mess. Thanks for helping me get motivated to get it all cleaned up tonight instead putting it off until tomorrow. That verse is definitely very motivating ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!

  2. This is great, and so true! I try to get a few things done and then relax because after cleaning up, I know I’ll actually be able to relax. If I don’t finish up a couple chores, then I’ll just sit there and think about them. I guess my own guilt motivates me!
    ~Erin
    Neaten Your Nest

Leave a Reply

