Reflections

A verse that I have been trying to meditate on for the past several months is from Philippians 4:8. You know, it’s the one that has “whatever is pure, whatever is noble, think about such things.” Because, what we think about becomes our actions, our character, who we are…

I want to be a good wife, a good mother, and a wise woman. To achieve these goals I need to be careful with my thoughts. If I let negative and complaining thoughts into my mind, then they will carry over into my actions. Sometimes I need to give myself a mental shake and tell myself “Hey, cut that out! Replace that negative thought with something lovely!”

If you are a mom, you know what I am talking about! It is so easy to think, “My kid is driving me crazy! If I hear one more cry I am going to looooose it!”

Or if you are a wife, “If that man leaves his dirty clothes on the floor one more time!”

It is easy to get caught up in the little annoyances. 

Give yourself a good mental shake. Count your blessings. Say something positive, outloud even, if you have to! “My kids are driving me crazy! BUT, I love them! They are wonderful, they are a blessing, my life would be empty without them!” And give your husband grace because I’m sure there are a ton of things you do that annoy him too! Sure, you can address the annoyance, but do it respectfully and with an attitude of love. (Don’t complain about it!) “Honey, I would really appreciate if you could make those dirty clothes find their way to the laundry basket.”

When my Sweet C gets up in the morning I sing a little line of “This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it!” Choosing joy in the morning will set to mood of the whole day. Circumstances may cloud up the sun, but thinking about what is true and admirable helps refocus on the bigger picture: God is good and gave me a good life. I want to be a good wife, a good mother, and a wise woman and thinking negatively/ complaining will not get me there.

What goal do you want in your life, what is an obstacle, and how will you overcome?

 

One thought on “Reflections

  1. That is a nice verse to start the day with. Love, Grams

Leave a Reply

