Love Your Kitchen

Welcome to my Kitchen.

 

I have a love/hate relationship with my kitchen. But I am learning to be content with what I have and change what I can and learn to be content with the way things are some more. Contentment is hard work, especially when I see so much potential in something but the means are just not available for the time being.

It is a decently large space, but there are two main problems. It has four doors. Two you can see in the picture. The door on the left is to the outside and the door on the right is to a bathroom. I am stood in the door way to the utility room while I taking this picture, and just out of the picture’s frame to the left is the door to the living room.

The second main problem is limited counter space. I used to have a moveable island in the middle of the kitchen but decided to have our table in that place so it freed up our other living areas.

I love that my kitchen is red. I also have many red kitchen appliances and it just makes me very happy. I love that I have a dishwasher, a newer oven, and a window over my sink. I love that the adjoining utility not only houses the washer and dryer but also my refrigerator and a couple more cupboards. And finally, I love that my kitchen is mine and I have claimed it as my clutter free zone. Toys are not allowed in the kitchen. I do however keep a few books on top of my pot rack for my Sweet C. When I am looking at cookbooks she has one of her own to keep her preoccupied πŸ™‚

So, to tackle some of my space problems I have utilized a couple handy organization tricks.

I use cup hooks to hold (and display) my most used kitchen tools. Pretty and practical πŸ™‚

I got this idea from a lady whose kids I used to nanny. She used it only for measuring cups, but the idea definitely originated from her kitchen πŸ™‚

Next up in keeping my kitchen an organized space is my beloved pots and pans rack. I love this thing! I can’t remember the exact price but I know it was right around $30. So worth every penny!

Love my pots and pans rack! See that cute little bucket in the middle? I used a clothes pin to attach it to the rack and fill it with pens! πŸ™‚

And next to the pot rack is my wonderful spice rack. I also use it to hold some vitamins and medicine, but I’m sure those will get booted as I expand my spice collection πŸ™‚

My spice rack.

Lastly I have a dry erase/calendar/pin board in my kitchen. On the pin board I hang my keys up so Sweet C doesn’t hide them and I always know where they are…unless I forget to put them up there! πŸ™‚

My multi-functioning organizational aide! Dry erase board with calendar and pin board.

Hope these little ideas help.Β  And remember to be thankful for what you have. πŸ™‚ Using what you’ve got may just spark some creativity!

What do you love most about your kitchen and what do you do to keep it organized and ready for action?

 

4 thoughts on “Love Your Kitchen

  1. I have red in my kitchen, too! In fact, I have some of those same red utensils! Love it. And, I totally understand the lack of counterspace issue. From the looks of it, you have just very slightly more than I do. And just a random comment: Those are *all* of your spices? I think I must have about 30, some used more than others, but still used πŸ™‚

    • Yes, those are *all* my spices. I used to have lots more but they were from a countertop spice rack (wedding present from 4 years ago) and I got rid of the old (expired) spices recently. So, now I am down to a handful until I get around to buying more. As long as I have cinnamon I am happy πŸ™‚
      Can I guess that your grandma inspired your red kitchen? She was definitely my inspiration!

  2. Your kitchen is so cute, Sara! My new kitchen is teeny tiny, which is actually pretty good for me because one, I don’t cook a great deal in there to need the extra space and two, it helps me keep up with the messes! Ever since you told me about how you like to keep your kitchen the place that is the most kept up at the end of the day, etc, I have kept that in mind. If I notice I let it go a little too long, it nags at me a little and I prefer to just get it done. Having an apartment now is much easier for me to keep up with than the house I was living in; I know one day when I meet that right fella and we may have a house, it will be a little different, but he will be helping me too lol πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Choosing the Best Hanging Pot Racks to Fit Any Kitchen « Hanging Pot Rack Blog

Leave a Reply

