Have your oreos and eat them too!

Sometimes, okay probably more than that, often as a Stay-at-home-Mom of young children (17 months and 11 weeks!) I find myself thinking at the end of the day, “What did I do all day?” I mean, I know what I did…changed diapers, fed my baby, prepared and served meals to my toddler, cleaned up after meals, read books, changed more diapers, held and rocked my crying baby, chased my toddler around the house to recover my cell phone, played with toys…you get the idea. But what did I accomplish? How was I productive? Why on Earth am I soooo dang tired at the end of the day?

See, you aren’t the only one that asks these questions! This is the season of our life with babies and small children. We are accomplishing something that isn’t always visible. We are productive and not giving ourselves due credit. We are tired because as Mommies we are pouring not just our energy into caring for our children, but our very hearts and souls.

Of course there is the housework (a completely on going cycle), the meals, organizing, and planning, but the most important thing is not a thing at all! The unconditional loving, nurturing, teaching, praying, sharing, adventuring, hoping, encouraging, inspiring we do for our children is the hardest, most worth-while job of all time. Building our children’s character, instilling values, raising responsible people; now that’s an accomplishment! The 24/7 endless seemingly menial tasks are beyond productive, they are labors of love for our family.

Be encouraged! You are doing a noble thing. You are doing a good job! Motherhood is not for the faint of heart. And if you are having a hard day remember this verse: Philippians 4:13

I am so blessed to have an outstanding husband and two girls who adore me. Wouldn’t trade this life for anything.

One thought on “Have your oreos and eat them too!

  1. All true! I am so proud of your accomplishments!

Leave a Reply

