Peanut Butter and Strawberries

What we have here is a fantastic way to have a peanut butter sandwich. We usually slop on some strawberry jam, but today I had the idea to go with sliced fresh strawberries. Let me tell you this was beyond delicious. I remember as a kid sometimes we would have sliced banana on our peanut butter sandwiches, but strawberries are really extraordinary. I would imagine if you are a grape jelly fan with your PB that some nice plump black or purple grapes sliced would be wonderful as well. I ate my sandwich with two slices of bread. (I like to use Aunt Millie’s Whole Grain White). But Sweet C got an open face sandwich. Of course she had more fun picking the strawberry sliced off the peanut butter and didn’t really eat the bread, but she really gets a kick out of saying “ticky, ticky” as she grabs the sticky peanut butter with her cute little fingers and putting some of it in her mouth and uses some of it to paint the table. Sometimes it’s a little hard for me to let her get messy when she eats, but I read that especially for toddlers, playing with food is very important. Now, of course there are lines to draw and what is acceptable now won’t be so acceptable say when she is 3 or 4…but the main thing is that she is learning. And as long as she is still getting some of it in her mouth I’m a happy Mommy.

Oh yeah, and the next time I have a PB&J I’m so kicking the J to the curb and slicing up something fresh. I’m sure I’ll find ways to replace that sugary jam with something like ice cream… 😀

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Strawberries

Leave a Reply

