Toughest Critic

Yesterday I went to bed with the energy, motivation, and greatest of intention of doing a super clean of the whole house. And then this morning I woke up and reality set in: 6 hours of light sleep and severe seasonal allergies made me very tired and very unmotivated. So even though my morning was MUCH less busy since Sweet C is still at Grandma’s, I still have my darling newborn Blue Eyes that wanted lots of attention. Please don’t take this as a complaint, I’m just stating it as a fact that my planned morning of all out cleaning was a morning of cuddling, diapers, feeding, and you get the idea. Of course this in of its self was wonderful because she wasn’t being fussy, but I think she realized Sweet C wasn’t around and so she could have more of my undivided attention.

However, I did manage to get a little housework done after a quick lunch. But, I am my toughest critic, and so now I am reminding myself that one out of two bathrooms cleaned, one load of laundry, cleaning counters and kitchen floor, and picking  up random toys off the floor is sufficient. I need to give myself grace. I could probably do more, but I am learning more and more that as a mommy of two little kiddies I run out of energy fast! So now I am resting for a bit. This is not a lazy restful period but one of necessary rejuvenation. I need to find a healthy snack (thinking English: A pack of blueberries from a organic ...blueberries and peanut butter on a whole grain tortilla) to energize my body. Also, since Blue Eyes just laid down for a nap I am going to energize my mind and body by taking a little nap as well. But before I take a nap I am going to energize my spirit by having a little quiet time and reading a short devotional. I love biblegateway.com for this purpose.

So, my tip for cleaning of the day is this: give yourself grace! Do what you can because the little things add up, and once you feel more energized do a bit more. Little tasks at a time (and it will be probably be over several days) make one clean house.

I am blessed to have such a flexible schedule to clean, relax, and have fun as needed 😀

 

Leave a Reply

